Customer Reviews

* FTC Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by contributors of the product reviews are their own and not necessarily those of Netrition.com. These reviews should not be taken as recommendations but rather customer opinions of the products that they may or may not have used. Furthermore, Netrition.com makes no warranty or representation, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy or sufficiency of the information contributed by outside sources, and assumes no responsibility or liability regarding the use of such information. Netrition.com does not warrant the performance, effectiveness or applicability of any materials listed or linked to on Netrition.com.

  • 4/5 August 03, 2019
    * Pleasant fluffy and satisfying. Not very flavorsome...could benefit from a variety of flavors
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 26, 2019
    * Love that these are only 1 point on Weight Watchers! I like the flavor but they can be rather dry.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 21, 2019
    * They are different than what I expected but were good. I like them toasted the best as they are softer. Will order again.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 11, 2019
    * These are a game changer for low carb dieters. They arenít perfect and itís not exactly like a regular hamburger bun, but it is the closest thing Iíve found and it doesnít have a weird taste that a lot of commercial low carb bread products do. It didnít toast that well - I heat mine in the microwave for about 20 seconds to make it soft and sometimes grill in a little butter. Itís so nice to eat a sandwich with a real bun and not blow carbs for the day!
    Smart Baking Company SmartBun
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 21, 2019
    * Good but little dry
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 March 12, 2019
    * Good if you want a bun.
    Smart Baking Company SmartBun
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 16, 2019
    * I like these buns. Who wouldn't want a hamburger bun that has NO net carbs! I order them occasionally but it's not something I just HAVE to have. The only reason I give it a 4 is because it does have a "taste" that's different but not bad and makes eating a hamburger with a bun once in awhile a good thing!
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 07, 2019
    * The texture is a bit different but they have a nice flavor. I might order them again to experiment with serving them at different temperatures.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 19, 2019
    * Bun is thick but a bit dry. Could use one 1/2 and have plenty. Will buy again.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 January 06, 2019
    * For low carb dieting its amazing. Expensive but it was nice to have a real burger. Good texture and taste. I fried my bun in butter. Will purchase again.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 December 16, 2018
    * I started Low Carb living back in 1999, long before it was a "craze" and before there were any products out there to help me. Over the years I've tried many low carb breads, buns, cookies, etc. Most have been awful. I resorted to baking my own, but that seldom worked out the way I'd hoped. That's why I was so delighted when I tried the hamburger buns by SmartBun. They are "smooshable", which is very important in a hamburger bun, right? Otherwise the burger and trimmings tend to go sliding out the side when you take a bite! In addition, they tasted wonderful! The 4 rating is because they are rather dry, despite tons of mayonnaise and low carb ketchup. I do, however, give SmartBun a 5 for the packaging. Each bun comes inside its own plastic pack - wonderful! No more struggling to get one out and then finding a way to keep the rest from drying out or getting freezer burn. Thanks SmartBun! These are one of the few low carb items I plan to reorder!
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 July 18, 2018
    * They have a slightly sweet taste that I like but theyíre a little crumbly...but Iím doing weight watchers and this is a 1 point hamburger roll... with that in mind, it being a little is NOT a deal breaker and I intend on ordering again to also use to make light breakfast sandwiches out of.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 08, 2018
    * They are more dense than a carb bun but great to have for burgers and bbq sandwiches. But, the buns came to me a little smashed flat from packaging so that was a little annoying.
    Smart Baking Company SmartBun
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 May 03, 2018
    * Very tasty bun! I had gotten tired of eating bunless burgers so I was excited to try these. I zapped them in the microwave for 20 seconds and then put them on the grill. They were super tasty. They have a very slight sweetness to them, but it's not off-putting at all. I will absolutely order again.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 April 18, 2018
    * Closest that I can tell to "real" buns in flavor. Consistency could be better but taste is what really matters.
    Smart Baking Company SmartBun
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 February 19, 2018
    * They are okay
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 20, 2017
    * I've been on a keto diet for over 6 months and never bought any low carb buns, but my husband just started keto and asked if I could get some. Wow! These are delicious! We toasted them in a pan with some butter and enjoyed a great low carb burger. They're very filling, couldn't finish a whole one! They're packaged nicely too, sealed in individual bags.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 15, 2017
    * These are good, and the taste is just fine. But if you are expecting bread, you are going to be disappointed. Their texture is more cake-like than bread. And while that's not necessarily bad, if you are wanting bread this isn't going to do it for you. Think "cornbread" -- that probably gives you a good idea of what to expect -- not in taste but in consistency.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 02, 2017
    * I make steak sammitches, hamburgers, and chicken burgers using these buns.These are very good, especially considering they have no net carbs and only 72 calories. They're about as good tasting as you can expect a zero net-carb product to be, with a slightly sweet taste due to a small amount of erythritol in them. My one criticism, and this is very minor, is that they're somewhat dry and difficult to swallow. They're also a little difficult to toast consistently - the edges burn before the middle gets toasted (ok that's two criticisms.) But overall i am pleased with the product, especially given that each bun is individually wrapped. I order about 5 packages at a time and then two weeks later I have to order more (my wife likes them, too!) I recommend these if you are doing a low-carb lifestyle.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Plain
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
    4/5 August 17, 2017
    * Tried these buns recently, both plain and sesame seed, and like them very much. They have a good flavor in my opinion and seem pretty similar to a regular hamburger bun. I don't need to measure blood sugar levels so I can't comment on that. The only negative for me is that these buns crumble readily, and this comment has been made by several reviewers. If they could add some kind of binder to keep it together it would be a home-run "5". I have used the other brand of hamburger buns, LCBC, for the past few years and those are decidedly chewy and bagel-like, but the Smartbuns are not like that at all. Would definitely recommend that you try these and decide if the crumbling is OK with you. FYI, I froze these upon receipt as is one of Netrition's recommendations for storage.
    Smart Baking Company SmartBun
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 23, 2017
    * Love the buns but they crumble easily and have too sweet of taste. They are more bread like. Not chewy like other bread products I've tried.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 19, 2017
    * Buns are very good tasting. Slight toasting keeps them from falling apart.
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 June 05, 2017
    * Very good with a thick grilled cheeseburger and added lettuce, onions, pickles and anything else that's fairly dry. No tomatoes, too wet. I chopped everything so as to minimize bite pressure. It held up nicely. Also, the sweet flavor is minimized with a burger. I tried a couple of other sandwiches and both were overpowered by the sweetness of the bun. I even tried a grilled cheese, again sweet taste took over. I'm happy though and will enjoy grilled hamburgers and maybe a version of a hotdog or two. I ordered a few pkgs to keep in the freezer. If it weren't for that sweet sensation they would be a perfect 5.
    Smart Baking Company SmartBun
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 October 04, 2016
    * These could do with a little less sweetness (lose the sweetness and these get a full 5 stars from me). A bit disconcerting to get a sweet taste when biting into a savory cheeseburger or chicken sandwich. Otherwise, what a fantastic surprise to find a zero carb hamburger bun that actually tastes great! (I brought one to Carl's Jr and plopped my lettuce-wrapped chicken sandwich on it and was in HEAVEN) Now I'm waiting for Hot Dog Buns and Sandwich/Sub Rolls to be added to the product list!!
    Smart Baking Company SmartBun
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

  • 4/5 September 20, 2016
    * Very good! I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because it's a wee bit dry. I slathered on my condiments, mayo, horseradish sauce, and Low carb ketchup and that helped with the dryness. I would buy these again..
    This review is specific to SmartBun, Sesame Seed
    Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2019 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.